Home » Your new TV must have these 5 features
Tips and advice

Your new TV must have these 5 features

New TV must have features. This article explains 5 features that every new TV must have when you plan to buy
4.3/5 - (58 votes)

New TV must have features

We talk a lot about what to look for when buying a new TV, but the TV world is changing quickly and so the features you should pay attention to are changing quickly. If you want to go for a high-end and future-proof TV with the latest techniques, New TV must have features these five features which you should pay attention to, based on the most recent developments and possibilities in the field of hardware and software.

Buying a TV- New TV must have features

Buying a TV is no longer as easy as it seems, especially if you want to take into account all the possibilities that televisions offer nowadays. The size and budget are of course still important, but in recent years various standards and techniques have been developed that allow you to get more out of your TV and which you can therefore pay attention to. The most recent standard in recent years is 4K Ultra HD, the higher resolution, but the film and TV industry does not think that is enough to convince consumers and comes up with different standards and techniques to get the most out of that high resolution.

new TV must have features- 1. 4K Ultra HD

Of course, the first feature is the high 4K Ultra HD resolution. With this resolution you get a four times sharper display on your screen; four times the number of pixels than full hd. In general, the rule is; the larger the TV, the more you will benefit from the 4K resolution. On a smaller screen, with a normal viewing distance, the difference between Full HD and Ultra HD is not clearly visible. Now it must be said that nowadays you almost automatically end up with a 4K Ultra HD TV when you go shopping for a premium TV. Most manufacturers equip their top models with the high resolution. We also see the prices of these models fall increasingly faster, so that the 4K Ultra HD models are almost at the same price point as the full HD models from three years ago.

2. High Dynamic Range (HDR)

As indicated above, the film and TV industry did not consider a higher resolution alone to be sufficient. The color reproduction and contrast also need to be improved and this is one of the reasons High Dynamic Range comes into play. This feature, described as HDR, increases the dynamic range (the difference between deep black and intense white) of images by making the black values ​​deeper and the whites brighter. This gives you more details in dark parts of the screen and in the bright parts of the screen. All you need for playback is a TV that supports HDR and content that is mastered in HDR. About the latter;

New TV must have features

Currently, almost only the premium TVs from the larger manufacturers have support for HDR, but it must be said that not one standard is used by everyone. Three standards are currently in use, including the general HDR standard and the Dolby Vision standard. It is not clear which standard it will become (if at all) and whether there is compatibility between the two standards.

3.10-bit panels

If you are not yet fully trained in the field of TVs then this heading is probably new to you. But, it is all the more important because to conjure up more color on your TV, and thus ensure a true-to-life reproduction, the number of color gradations has to be increased. Until recently, TVs used standard 8-bit panels that can display 16.78 million color gradations, but thanks to a new standard for color depth, we are now moving to 10-bit panels that can display 1.07 billion colors. The human eye can distinguish many more color gradations than 16.78 million, so we will also benefit from this.

The 4K Ultra HD standard includes the new 10-bit color depth and it is therefore expected that most (native) 4K content will be written out with the new standard. The HEVC decoder, which can be found on your 4K Ultra HD TV, can read this information and the hardware (a 10-bit panel) can display the greater number of color gradations.

4. HDMI 2.0a

Most TVs you buy today have HDMI 2.0 ports. And they are fully equipped with the support of the larger color gamut, the 4K Ultra HD resolution and functions such as HDMI-CEC and HDMI-ARC. However, you still need a newer HDMI version to take advantage of High Dynamic Range content. This content comes with metadata that must be read by the TV, after which the panel can display the information in the form of HDR content. To read that information, HDMI 2.0a ports are required and we don’t see them much from the box at the moment. Fortunately, most TVs can be equipped with a firmware update that allows HDMI 2.0 ports to be upgraded to HDMI 2.0a.

5. HDCP 2.2

You may easily overlook it, but your TV must also be able to handle content that is protected. With the arrival of 4K Ultra HD, we see the new HDCP (High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection) 2.2 standard appear, which protects digital content so that it cannot be copied.

We will omit the entire technical process for a moment, but it all boils down to the fact that your equipment must have HDCP 2.2 support to be able to display digital content from other equipment and streaming services. For example, if you connect an Ultra HD Blu-ray player with a new film that is protected according to the HDCP standard to a TV without HDCP 2.2, you will unfortunately not be able to watch your film. Fortunately, most of the Ultra HD TVs this year have at least one HDMI port with HDCP 2.2 support, but it is in any case something you should pay attention to.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment